Sign In
Text Size a a a Print Print this page

HON Mark Lewis MAppSci MLC

Minister for Agriculture and Food


Hon Mark Lewis MLC

For The Honourable Mark Lewis MA(AppSc) AdvDip AssocDip MLC

Minister for Agriculture and Food

Mark was born on 27 November 1957 in Cunnamulla, Queensland. He was elected to the Thirty-ninth Parliament for the Mining and Pastoral Region on 5 April 2013, with his term commencing 22 May 2013.

Mark was raised on a farming and cattle property in Queensland. He studied animal production and health at Queensland University and worked for the Veterinary Services Branch within the Department of Primary Industries, mainly in the channel country and north Queensland.

In 1996, Mark and his family moved to Carnarvon where he fulfilled various positions within the Western Australian Department of Agriculture and Food. Some of these positions included Program and Regional Manager, Director, and Manager of Policy and Industry Development in the Rangelands, which co-incidentally approximately covers the same area as the Mining and Pastoral electorate. More latterly and before joining Parliament he worked on developing irrigated agricultural opportunities and attracting investment to northern Australia.

Throughout his time in WA Mark has been involved on a number of government committees and boards including the Pastoral Lands Board, Rural Adjustment and Finance Corporation, a range of Ministerial taskforces and appointments, and a number of state and region-wide natural resource management committees.

The Mining and Pastoral Region is an area of 2,283,470 square kilometres and includes the Legislative Assembly electorates of Eyre, Kalgoorlie, Kimberley, North West Central and Pilbara. Mark believes his time in Carnarvon with the Department of Agriculture and Food, allowed him to acquire a keen understanding of issues in the Mining and Pastoral Region and develop strong working relationships with numerous constituents and stakeholders in the region.

On the 23 September 2016 Mark Lewis was sworn in as the State Minister for Agriculture and Food.

(As at 23-September-2016)